National Championships


The Hebard era had begun.

Dick Hebard and Fred Walker won their first title, defeating the previous year’s winners, Kip Couch and Charlie O’Hearn.

The Women’s Championship was reinstated after a hiatus of six years and Madeline Beck resumed winning. She had won the last five events (1938-1942) with Marie Walker and now won with her sister Maizie Moore.

The Mixed was won by the husband and wife team, Ronald and Elfi Carroll, a portent of things to come.

Source: Fessenden S. Blanchard, Platform Paddle Tennis, 1959